Curriculum Overview

Here you will find information about the curriculum your child will follow in 2017-2018

EYFS overview
YEAR 1 overview
YEAR 2 overview
YEAR 3 overview
YEAR 4 overview
YEAR 5 overview
YEAR overview

Phonics & Reading

The school teaches phonics using the Letters and Sounds scheme.

More information on this scheme can be found here:
Letters and Sounds

The reading scheme followed by the school is ‘Oxford Reading Tree’ This includes: Songbirds, Glow-worms, Snapdragons, Stories, Phonics, Fireflies, Treetops, Poetry. This is supplemented by Pearson’s Phonics Bug
Reading Policy 2016

British Values

As of September 2014, the DfE requires all schools to promote the historical and current values that underpin the national identity known as being British. Within this, all schools are required to ensure that the curriculum actively promotes these fundamental British values.

What is ‘Britishness’?

Fundamental British values are defined by the Dfe as;

  • Democracy: Respect for democracy and support for participation in the democratic process
  • The rule of law: Respect for the basis on which the law is made and applies in England
  • Individual liberty: Support and respect for the liberties of all within the law
  • Mutual respect and tolerance: Support for equality of opportunity for all and respect and tolerance of different faiths and religious and other beliefs.

British Values Policy: OLGH british-values-policy-2015